Club Championship

2020 Burnham on Sea Harriers members championship

Just the a few alterations to the scoring system for this year: track PBs will count as separate to road/trail PBs and I’ve increased the points for placing well in races (see below)

Prizes will be awarded to the top 3 males and top 3 females including perpetual shields.  The format will be on a points based scoring system, scoring system as follows:

Race entry points, according to distance of race entered:

4 miles and under = 1 point

4.1 – 8 miles = 2 points

8.1 – 12 miles = 3 points

12.1 – 16 miles = 4 points

16.1 – 20 miles = 5 points

20.1 – 24 miles = 6 points

24.1 – 27 miles = 10 points

Ultras: 12-22 points, but will depend on distance/terrain

Somerset Series Races = as above but with a bonus point for each race

Multi Terrain / Trail events = 2 bonus points

Further bonus points will also be awarded as follows:

Win your age category = 3 points, 2nd in age category: 2 points, 3rd in age category: 1 point.

1st place in a race: 5 points, 2nd place in a race: 4 points, 3rd place in 3 points, 4th-10th place in a race: 2 points

Team Relay (for example Parrett Trail Relay) = 3 points for each runner

Team category win (e.g. races like The Quantock Beast) = 3 points per team member

To give runners an incentive to improve their times there will also be PB based bonus points. Current Runners pb list can be found here: Harriers PB list (1)

These will apply to 5k, 5mile, 10k, Half Marathon and Marathon events.  Trying to keep track of average times proved to be a real headache in 2018, so once again for 2020 times will be based upon your fastest over the given distance from 2016-20

If a runner hasn’t ran a particular distance before they will automatically get two bonus points and this will be set as their target time for future races.

Runners will automatically be entered into the Championship.  Scores will be updated regularly on Facebook and this web page.  Good luck all!

Latest Club Championship standings as of 10th March, well done team yellow


Sue 37
Tracey T 28
Billie-Jo 19
Becci 11
Paula 10
Lisa B-H 6
Alison 4
Helen 4
Tracey B 4
Claire 3
Jenny 3
Kelly 3
Nikki 3
Georgina 2
Helen 2
Kelly 2
Lisa P 2
Tanya 2


Clive 23
Lewis 17
Jason R 15
Adrian 13
Tony G 14
Matt P 12
Tony M 12
Harry 11
Jon J 11
Tim 10
Phil H 9
Ian B 8
Ian W 8
James 8
Ganesh 4
Jason V 3
Kevin 3
Stuart A 3
Jonathan 2
Mark B 2
Stuart T 2


Become a Member

If you have doubts about joining the club, why not come along to our club evening. Our club run is on Tuesday evening. In line with Covid-19 Government Guidance and UK athletics guidance the club organises a series of socially distant runs in small groups. Each group runs at a different pace, accommodating runners of all abilities. We meet at the Bay Centre from 6pm, with each group setting off at different times. Please keep an eye on our Harriers Facebook page as club runs are published weekly and some groups set off from alternative locations to minimise social gatherings at the Bay Centre. Our Thursday evening Fitness class, normally held at Highbridge Community Hall is postponed until its Covid safe to do so. Upon the resumption of our fitness class, you will be most welcome to join as the sessions are designed for members at all levels of fitness.